Ross Macdonald Literary Award Opening Night June 5 @ SBWC 2016

Ross Macdonald, creator of Lew Archer, wearing a straw hat


Ross Macdonald

On opening night, June 5, 2016, Santa Barbara Writers Conference will host the presentation of the Ross Macdonald Literary Award. In past years the award has been given to Ray Bradbury, Dean Koontz, Sue Grafton, Mark Salzman, Robert Crais, T.C. Boyle, and James Ellroy.

This year, the recognition will be awarded to the prolific writer Dennis Lynds who passed away in August of 2005. His widow, award winning author of political thrillers, Gayle Lynds, will receive the award on his behalf and will speak on Dennis' writing.

He is best known under the pseudonym Michael Collins, writing the Dan Fortune novels, all of which are available in both print and ebook. He wrote in multiple genres under various names over four decades, and he is known for a literary style that transcends the genres he wrote in.

Ross Macdonald, Dennis Lynds and Gayle Lynds all have had a connection to the Santa Barbara Writers Conference, and we are pleased to celebrate this history while honoring Dennis' fine literary style.

The award ceremony precedes our opening night speaker Rufi Thorpe. This event is open to the public. Tickets $10.