Stephen Vessels.png

Stephen T. Vessels

Manuscript Consultant

Stephen Vessels is a professional editor and Thriller Award nominated author of  science fiction, dark fantasy and cross-genre fiction.  His story collection, The Mountain, the Vortex and Other Tales, was released in 2016 by Muse Harbor Publishing, and his first published novel, The Door of Tireless Pursuit, was released last year by ShadowSpinners Press as part of their Labyrinth of Souls series.  His novel From Dust Returned, will be released in August by Penmore Press, and his second contribution to the Labyrinth of Souls series will be released mid-year in 2019.  His stories have appeared in Ellery Queen Mystery Magazine and collections from Grey Matter Press and ShadowSpinners Press, among others. In 2012 he received a Best Fiction Award from the Santa Barbara Writers Conference.  According to author Elizabeth Engstrom, "Stephen is one of those rare artists who comes along effortlessly cruising through the genres."

 He has been a steady participant of the Santa Barbara Writers Conference since 2006, where he's worked with John R. Reed, Monte Schulz, Sid Stebel and many others. He has also studied with Elizabeth Engstrom and Pulitzer recipients Robert Olen Butler and Jane Smiley.

 Stephen is a lifelong lover of books, art and music.  His visual art has exhibited in New York and southern California, and he is a creative consultant for the classical music project, Masterpiece Finder.  His literary interests are broad and non-sectarian. His poems have been published in journals and a chapbook from Slack Buddha Press.

 Advice to writers: Cultivate a supportive inner voice and put the passion on the page.

 Writers he loves:  Charles Dickens, Ray Bradbury, Samuel Beckett, Isaac Asimov, Ursula K. LeGuin, James Lee Burke, Rudyard Kipling, George Eliot, Philip K. Dick, H. P. Lovecraft, Ernest Hemingway, Theodore Sturgeon, John le Carré, Robin Hobb, Robert Silverberg, James Joyce, Kurt Vonnegut, Gabriel García Márquez, Dean Koontz, Louisa May Alcott, Harper Lee, Samuel R. Delaney, Fernando Pesoa – scratching the surface.