Register to attend the 2017 S.B. Writers Conference

View the 2107 Schedule (7.5 Mb)

For a writer, nothing is wasted. Sooner or later you can use everything you're experienced or heard about.

- Geoff Aggeler

Opening night will be Sunday, June 18 2017. 

Workshop leader updates for 2017 are still in development.
Check the print PDF for a more current version. 

Swirl2017 Conference Schedule


June 19 9:00 am - 11:30 am
June 20 9:00 am - 11:30 am
June 21 9:00 am - 11:30 am
June 22 9:00 am - 11:30 am
June 23 9:00 am - 11:30 am

The Seven Deadly Sins of Novel Writing

This workshop will work on eliminating flaws that that would stand in the way of an agent or editor to accepting your manuscript.

Workshop Leader

Gar Anthony Haywood

GAR ANTHONY HAYWOOD is the Shamus and Anthony award-winning author of twelve crime novels and numerous short stories. He has written six mysteries featuring African-American private investigator Aaron Gunner; two starring Joe and Dottie Loudermilk, retiree crime-solvers and Airstream-owning parents to five grown Children From Hell; and four standalone thrillers.

Haywood,s first of six mysteries featuring African-American private investigator Aaron Gunner, Fear of the Dark, won the Private Eye Writers of America,s Shamus award for Best First Novel of 1989, and his first Gunner short story, And Pray Nobody Sees You, won both the PWA,s Shamus and World Mystery Convention,s Anthony awards for Best Short Story of 1995. His short story, The First Rule Is, was featured in the 2010 edition of Best American Mystery Short Stories, and The Lamb Was Sure To Go, his most recently published Gunner short story, garnered him his third Shamus award in[More]