Register to attend the 2017 S.B. Writers Conference

View the 2107 Schedule (7.5 Mb)

Read great authors but don’t write to be great. Write to create, to inhabit a world you can grow into.

- Perie Longo

Opening night will be Sunday, June 17 2018. 

Workshop leader updates for 2018 are still in development.

Swirl2018 Conference Schedule


June 18 7:00 pm - 7:30 pm

Ross Macdonald Award Recipient Pico Lyer

Ross Macdonald Literary Award is a U.S. book prize given some years by the Santa Barbara Book Council to a “California writer whose work raises the standard of literary excellence.”

The award is named in honor of California mystery novelist, Ross Macdonald, whose novels were set in a fictionalized version of Santa Barbara, California.
2002 - Ray Bradbury
2003 - Dean Koontz
2004 - Sue Grafton
2005 - Mark Salzman
2006 - Robert Crais
2007 - T. C. Boyle
2008 - James Ellroy
2016 - Dennis Lynds
2017 - Fannie Flagg